Survivorship Special Interest Group

Steering Committee

Shahrukh Hashmi, MD, co-chair
Areej El-Jawahri, MD, co-chair  

Scott Baker, MD, MS
Linda Burns, MD
Christy Duncan, MD
Adetola Kassim, MD, MS
Catherine Lee, MD
Robert Lisac
Debra Kelly, PhD, RN, OCN
Anthony Sung, MD
Karen Syrjala, PhD

ASTCT Staff Liaison - Anna Hawkshead


The Special Interest Group (SIG) for hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT) survivorship provides a national and international forum for the exchange of ideas, educational initiatives, research agenda setting, conducting collaborative research and dissemination on issues of importance surrounding survivorship in HCT. 


Membership in the Survivorship SIG is open to any ASTCT member.  Non-ASTCT members can join under special circumstances. Diverse representation is preferred, including, but not limited to: physicians, allied health professionals, researchers, social workers, nurses, administrators, governmental and private payer team members, patients, and patient advocates. If you would like to join the SIG, it is encouraged that you be a member of the ASTCT. If you are already a member of ASTCT, send an email to to join this SIG. 

Duties of Members

1.    Membership

  • Number of members.  Not less than three members and no more than 8 members.
  • Term of members. Two-year term.  May be re-appointed, with no term limits.
  • Overlap of terms. Terms of members will overlap.  Members will rotate off in a manner that allows continuity.
  • Term start/stop.  Terms will begin and end at the ASTCT annual meetings.
  • Composition. Steering Committee members must be members of the SIG, with at least one member representing the CIBMTR Health Services Research Program. Diverse representation is preferred: geographic, racial, gender based, areas of expertise, size and type of the transplant program. 
  • Nominations. Inaugural appointments to the Steering Committee will be made by the ASTCT President, in part based on recommendations from the Medical Director of the National Marrow Donor Program (NMDP) Health Services Research Program and the Scientific Director/Co-Chairs of the CIBMTR Working Committee on Late Effects and Quality of Life.  Subsequently, SIG members interested in serving as a leader will notify the Steering Committee, who will then forward a slate of proposed nominees through the Executive Director to the ASTCT President.

2.    Leadership

  • The leadership of the Steering Committee will be a Chair, Chair-Elect and CIBMTR HSR Program representative with term of 2 years; leaders may be reappointed. 

3.    Steering Member Responsibilities

  • Attend and actively participate in Steering Committee conference calls and other meetings at the request of the ASTCT Board of Directors.
  • Complete committee assignments, including annual report on activities for ASTCT Board of Directors and CIBMTR leadership.
  • Serve as resource for SIG members as well as members of other ASTCT SIGs.

Working Committees

Working Committees may be appointed by the Steering Committee to accomplish tasks and duties of the SIG.  Committees will be evaluated by the Steering Committee annually. 

The SIG ListServ is Now an Online Community!

Do you have questions on how other Centers are addressing Survivorship within their institutions?  Would you like to share information on best practices?  Are you interested in developing a strategy to better address Survivorship in the BMT Community?

The ASTCT Survivorship listserv has been converted to an online community and available to all members to post questions, present ideas, and discuss current topics impacting the BMT Community.  Members can communicate with the full membership of the Survivorship SIG by joining the online community and posting in the discussion forum.

Note: The email address that is current in your ASTCT Membership record is the only address that is allowed access to the online community.  If you have changed your email address, please contact us at

Educational Resources
If you would like to view previous educational resources, click here