Biobehavioral Research SIG

Steering Committee

Jennifer Knight, MD, co-chair
Karen Syrjala, PhD co-chair 

Linda Burns, MD
Erin Costanza, PhD
Shahrukh Hashmi, MBBS, MPH
Heather Jim, PhD
Debra Kelly, PhD, RN, OCN
Effie Petersdorf, MD
Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD
Bill Wood, MD

ASTCT Staff Liaison - Anna Hawkshead


The Biobehavioral Research Special Interest Group (SIG) provides a national and international forum for the exchange of ideas, research agenda setting, collaborative research development, and educational initiatives on the interaction of behavior, psychology, and biological processes throughout the hematopoietic cell transplantation and cellular therapies (TCT) process.

How You Can Join

If you would like to join the SIG, you must first be a member of the ASTCT. If you are already a member of ASTCT, please send an email to to join this SIG Community. Non-members are able to join the SIG and should contact Anna Hawkshead ( directly to join.


Read the Biobehavioral Research SIG Charter for more information on the SIG's purpose, membership and committees, including committee composition, selection and responsibilities.

Educational Resources